A nonprofit, independent news source to inform, inspire, educate and connect the St. Louis Jewish community.

St. Louis Jewish Light

A nonprofit, independent news source to inform, inspire, educate and connect the St. Louis Jewish community.

St. Louis Jewish Light

A nonprofit, independent news source to inform, inspire, educate and connect the St. Louis Jewish community.

St. Louis Jewish Light

Top row, from left: John Wilson, Becca Near, Beth Feldman, Madison Cohen and Neshama Roash. Middle row: Rabbi Carnie Rose, John Kemppainen, Betsy Cohen, Sam Dorshow and Hannah Wolkowitz. Bottom row: Annette Heller, Alan Taxman and Matt Specter

Newsmakers – February, 2023

Published February 14, 2023

John Wilson has joined the St. Louis Jewish Community Center as its director of Cultural Arts. He will oversee the annual Jewish Film Festival and supervise and support the Jewish Book Festival, the New Jewish Theatre and the Youth Theater Program. Wilson...

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT: Benjamin Singer, Rabbi Janine Schloss, Maxine Clark, Debra Klevens, Jane Ballard Roth and Shari Whay. SECOND ROW: Lisa Gubernik, Debby Gold, Mindee Fredman,  Harvey Brandvein, Jody Feldman and Ted Koplar (z’’l).

Newsmakers: December 2022

Published December 14, 2022

On Sunday, Dec. 11, at the Factory in Chesterfield, the Jewish Student Union (JSU) celebrated its 20th year at its annual gala. Honored with the Jewish Continuity Award are Jill and David Mogil, members of Young Israel. Diane and Paul Gallant,...

TOP ROW: Dr. Ken Ludmerer, Dr. Jeff Dalin, Dr. Daniel Goldberg, Dr. Andy Dalin, Jennifer Rich-Thomas 
BOTTOM ROW: Jayme Bertish, Dylan Brown, Phyllis Brasch Librach, Dr. David H. Gutmann, Jonathan Kipnis, PhD

Newsmakers: November 2022

Published November 28, 2022

Dr. Ken Ludmerer, of the Washington University School of Medicine, has joined the Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital board.  Dalin Dental Associates received one of 10 2022 Family Business Awards from the St. Louis Business Journal. Dr. Jeff Dalin...

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT: Susan Schmidt Whiddington, Nancy Siegel Burson, Hollye Levin-Lichtenstein, Ingrid Jacoby and Jerry Held

SECOND ROW: Scott Redler, Debbie Schwartz Garden,  Dr. Elizabeth Losos, Miriam Estrin and William Greenblatt

THIRD ROW: Ben Solomon,  Ariana Tobin, 	Dr. Elissa Newport, the late Dr. John D. Hirsch and Dr. Joan Rosenberg

Newsmakers: November 2022

Published November 4, 2022

The Ladue Distinguished Alumni Awards recently took place at the Ladue Horton Watkins Performing Arts Center. The awards are presented once a decade and originated in 2002. Recipients are chosen for significant achievements in their respective fields,...

Top row: Dr. Vicky Fraser, Dr. Steve Miller, Marilyn and Dr. Gary Ratkin, Daniel Kaufer and Earl Kessler.
Second row: David Levi, Helene (Wagman) Sherman, Richard Stack, Silas Goldman and Susie Rubin. 
Third row: Harvey Brandvein, Marylen Mann, Sheila Greenbaum, Fran Levine and Dr. Sherman J. Silber. Fourth row: Bill Dauben, Dr. Ryan Fields, Beth Kodner and Ariel Ferman.

Newsmakers – October, 2022

Published October 26, 2022

At the upcoming Heart & Soul Gala, Congregation Shaare Emeth will honor Drs. Vicky Fraser and Steve Miller with the Harris Frank Community Service Award and Marilyn and Dr. Gary Ratkin with the Tzedek Award. The Harris Frank Community Service...

Top row, from left: Riley Deutsch,  Hannah Freeman, Jordan Lander, Lindsay Rich and Sadie Taxman. 

SECOND ROW: Dr. Jeffrey Gordon, Cantor Sharon Nathanson, Renee Sigel-Hearst, Elliott Shostak and Rabbi Binyamin Travis. 

THIRD ROW: Itta Boyko, Rabbi Jonathan Fruchter, Shira Berkowitz and Giti Fredman.

Newsmakers – October 2022

Published October 11, 2022

Recent Jewish St. Louis college graduates have started their careers. Riley Deutsch is teaching second grade at Spoede Elementary School. Hannah Freeman is working as an ER nurse at St. Francis Hospital in Wilmington, Del.  Jordan Lander has joined the...

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT: Marc Schreiber, Rabbi Hershey Novack, Rabbi Daniel Bogard and Bob Fox. SECOND ROW:  Cheryl Adelstein, Rabbi Avi Feigenbaum, Leslie Schwab Johnson and Demi Fine. THIRD ROW: Alyssa Smith, David Smith and Alan Spector.

Newsmakers – Sept 2022

Published September 9, 2022

National Council of Jewish Women St. Louis (NCJWSTL), was recognized by the Women’s Foundation of Greater St. Louis as a top place for women to work in the fifth annual Women in the Workplace: Employment Scorecard. NCJWSTL was recognized as one of...

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT: Marisa Goldberger, Amy Fenster Brown, Alissa Arst, Mindy Grossmann, and Diane Packman. SECOND ROW: Emilie Schaffer, Gail Wechsler, Amanda Miller, Elyse Picker and Josh Goldberg. THIRD ROW: Rebekah Scallet, Ben Poremba, Anya Corson and Lizzie Berkowitz

Newsmakers: August 2022

Published August 29, 2022

Washington University Hillel welcomed Marisa Goldberger as its new program and engagement associate. She will be supporting the Hillel board and creating meaningful programming. National Council of Jewish Women St. Louis (NCJWSTL) named Amy Fenster...

FIRST ROW, FROM LEFT: Greg Siwak, Alyssa Banford, Wendy Plank Rosen, A.J. Moll and Dr. Frances Levine. SECOND ROW: Matt Shatzman, Mark Cantor, Sawyer Bland, Aly Levine and Monique Levy.

Newsmakers: August, 2022

Published August 16, 2022

Greg Siwak, CEO of Clayton-based veterinary practice manager CareVet, was one of 10 honorees named Entrepreneur of the Year in the Heartland region by accounting firm EY (formerly Ernst & Young). This award recognizes “the most ambitious leaders...

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT: Laura Wildman, Rabbi Rachel Bearman, Harvey & Judy Harris, Leslie Wolf, Hedva Barenholtz Levy and Shelley Hoffman Dean. SECOND ROW: Dr. Dan Cohen, Clifford L. Tager, Jody Waldman, Ron Rubin, Rabbi Lynn Goldstein, Rabbi Andrew Terkel and Hannah Rubin Schlansky. THIRD ROW: Dr. Daniel Goldberg, Stacy G. Blum, Faith Berger, Yosef Granillo and Mindy Grossmann.

Newsmakers: July, 2022

Published August 2, 2022

Laura Wildman was one of 23 graduates who received their Master of Arts in Jewish Professional Studies from the Spertus Institute. She is the director of Elementary Education & Engagement at United Hebrew Congregation, where she and her family attend. Rabbi...

FIRST ROW, FROM LEFT: Steve Woolf, Anita Kraus , Kerri Alper, Lori Sheinbein, Jan Abrams and Rabbi Mark Shook. SECOND ROW: Matthew Bloom, Beckie Jacobs, Dr. Gil Vardi, Erica Abowitz, Alan Taxman and Tony Westbrook.

Newsmakers: July 2022

Published July 14, 2022

The Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School has been awarded the 2021-22 Green Schools Quest Judges Choice Award for the middle school’s Tikkun Garden. Students worked to revitalize Mirowitz’s garden, growing garlic and rye. The award is given each...

TOP ROW FROM LEFT: Nancy Litz, Moses Ohana, Celia Picker and Michael Geigerman.

SECOND ROW: Robert Rosenthal. Pepe Prince Finn, Alex Abramson and Haley Abramson. 

Newsmakers: June 2022

Published June 28, 2022

Nancy Litz was recently installed as the next president of the National Council of Jewish Women St. Louis for a two-year term. She attends Congregation Temple Israel. Of 21 entries (pre-K to kindergarten) in this year’s Creve Coeur Arbor Day Art...

Load More Stories