St. Louis Holocaust Museum announces contest winners

More than $3,100 in cash prizes was awarded to 38 winners of the Holocaust Museum and Learning Center’s 14th Annual Art and Writing Contest at an awards ceremony May 9.

There were nearly 950 submissions to the contest, from students in middle schools and high schools throughout the bi-state area. Numerous awards went to submissions from Lenexa, Kansas and awards went to students in Bryn Mawr, Penn., as well as Ardley, New York and Golden, Colo.

“The Art and Writing contest is a wonderful opportunity for young people who have visited the Museum or studied the Holocaust in their classrooms to respond creatively to what they have learned,” said Rachel Katzman, chair of this year’s contest. “Many of the submissions show a depth of understanding and amazing insight into the history and lessons of the Holocaust. This important outreach program was established with the support of Dr. Ira (of blessed memory) and Judy Gall, and we are so appreciative of Judy’s continued participation.”

As in previous years, the contest is dedicated to the memory of the 1.5 million children who perished during the Holocaust and in honor of the Galls’ grandchildren.

Winning submissions will be displayed in the Holocaust Museum Theater and at other locations to be determined.

Judges for the visual art entries were members of the arts community, Gary Godwin, Jeff Hartz and John Lesser. Judges for writing were retired educators Andrea Brownstein, Julie Frankel and Sandy Snodgrass (currently with Webster University).

Winners of the 2016 Art and Writing Contest are:



First Place:  “Imprisoned”, Emily Hoffman, St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, 8th Grade

Second Place: “Untitled”, Ari Perryman, Wydown Middle School, 6th Grade

Third Place:  “We Are One”, MJ Bournstein, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

“Shattered”, Andrew Nwacha, St. Mary’s, 8th Grade

Honorable Mentions:  “Don’t Look”, Samantha He, Bernard Middle School, 8th Grade

“The Horror”, Rhune Verbrugge, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

“Working Jews to Death”, William Turner, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

“The Reflection of History”, Diya Sakhrani, Fort Zumwalt South Middle School, 8th Grade

“Bielski Partisans (Hiding Then Resisting)”, Gabriel Perryman, Katy Junior High School, Katy, TX, 7th Grade

Special Honorable Mention: “Reflections” created by Elaine Eversgerd’s 8th grade class, Hazelwood West Middle School. Aaron Boulch, Maddie Davenport, Joanna Dearman, Aaron Hotze, Savanna Pestka,  Emily Potter, Maddie Wahby and  Grace Winters.


First Place: “The Darkest Light”, Christian Oryan Wolfe Flottmann , Central R-3 High School, 11th Grade

Second Place: “NEVER AGAIN”, Kyle FitzGibbon, Missouri Hills Bissell Hall, 11th Grade

Third Place:  “Untitled”, Zeke Webb, East Carter Co. Rt. 2 School, 10th Grade


First Place: “This Poem Cannot Exceed 1,000 Words”, Alex Madaras, Crestview Middle School, 8th Grade

Second Place: “Holocaust Poem”, Josh Lyles, St. Gabriel School, 8th Grade

Third Place: “Flame”, Katie Hastings, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

“A World in Color”, Kylie Alexis Rollings, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

Honorable Mentions: “Am I  Responsible?”, Belle Gage, Wydown Middle School, 7th Grade

“The Story”, Andrew Porterfield, St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, 8th Grade

Letters of the Past”, Erica Stewart, Fort Zumwalt South Middle School, 8th Grade

“Cry of Glory”, Hannah Volz, North Kirkwood Middle School, 8th Grade

Starved”, Delaney Reprogle, Fox Middle School, 8th Grade

“In My Children’s Eyes”, Hadleigh Bachman, St. Gabriel School, 8th Grade


First Place: “Taking Out the Garbage”, Tamsyn Brann, Ardsley High School, 11th Grade

Second Place: “The Forest of Flames”, Talia Raikin, Jack M. Barrack Hebrew School, 11th Grade

Third Place: “Where Were You?”, Jax Egan, St. James Academy, 9th Grade

“The Inescapable Fall”, Katie McIntyre, St. James Academy, 9th Grade

Honorable Mentions: “Wake Up”, Lupita Contreras, Golden High School, Grade 10

“Light in the Dark”, Emily Prost, St. Vincent de Paul, 10th Grade

“We Cannot Forget”, Ashley Raskin, Crossroads College Preparatory School, 9th Grade

“Running Out of Time”, Samantha Russell, St. James Academy, 9th Grade