Light Publisher/CEO to receive Goldstein Memorial Service Award

Jewish Light Publisher/CEO Larry Levin has been named the winner of the Jewish Federation’s 2013 Fred A. Goldstein Memorial Service Award, recognizing outstanding professional leaders in the local Jewish community.

In addition, Rachel Milder Lubchansky and Jeffrey Sparks were named winners of the Federation’s David N. and Roselin Grosberg Young Leadership Award, which recognizes volunteer leaders in the St. Louis Jewish community who are 40 years and younger and demonstrate active Federation leadership and commitment to Federation’s Annual Community Campaign.

Both awards will be presented at Federation’s Annual Meeting on Tuesday, September 17 at the Jewish Community Center Arts & Education Building.

 Levin became Publisher/CEO of the Light in 2008 and has overseen sweeping changes at the newspaper, which have resulted in stronger financial footing, greatly improved news coverage, enhanced design, technological upgrades, greatly enhanced online presence, a new subscription model and a new focus on Jewish Light events to build community presence, diversify revenue and connect with audiences in new and innovative ways.


Those changes have resulted in a variety of local and national journalism awards for the newspaper — 16 since 2009 — from the American Jewish Press Association, the National Newspaper Association and the Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis.

“Larry brings renewed energy, enthusiasm and passion to his work,” said Light Editor Ellen Futterman, who was part of the team that nominated Levin for the award. “He emerges himself in every aspect of the newspaper, without micromanaging. Rather, he takes a logical, patient, methodical approach to change and has not only challenged the status quo, but also has been successful in encouraging creativity and innovation among staff and board members.”

Prior to his work with the Light, Levin’s career included substantial experience in law, business, nonprofits and journalism. He is the father of two grown sons.

Lubchansky is the director of admissions and communications at the H.F. Epstein Hebrew Academy. In the past 11 years, she has devoted much of her time to volunteerism. She was an executive board member for Federation’s Young Professionals Division (YPD) and was a Millstone Fellow in the inaugural class of the Federation leadership series. She will join the Federation’s Board of Trustees this fall. She and her husband, Adam, have 4-year-old triplets.

Sparks is a partner in RubinBrown’s Assurance Services Group. He has served as president, vice president of campaign and at-large board member for Federation’s YPD. In 2010, Sparks was named as one of the St. Louis Business Journal’s 30 Under 30. In addition, he is a member of the board of directors for the Jewish Community Relations Council.

“These individuals were selected by a diverse committee of community and professional leadership from among a deep field of nominees, all of whom were well deserving of praise for their contributions to our community,” said Andrew Rehfeld, president and CEO of Federation.

The Goldstein award has been given annually since 1965; honorees are selected from representatives from the Jewish Federation Board of Directors, the presidents of the Rabbinical Association and Rabbinical Council and past award recipients. The award is given to a staff member of a St. Louis Jewish organization currently working in a direct service, professional or managerial role, who excels in his or her field, has a significant track record over time, has introduced important innovations, and is perceived as a role model by other professionals and volunteers.