How your Bubbe’s recipes could land you your own show


Create TV is launching a national video contest designed to seek hosts for a digital lifestyle series. Nine PBS Create airs 24/7 over the air on channel 9.4 and on Spectrum 184.

This year, the Create Cooking Challenge: My Family’s Recipe is focused on the rich, diverse heritage of Americans and the foods families pass down through generations. The winners will be awarded cash prizes and production equipment to host a 10-episode web series on

Sponsored by American Public Television, the Create Cooking Challenge: My Family’s Recipe runs from March 8 to April 5, 2022. The contest will be judged by Create staff and some of Nine PBS’s most recognized hosts: Kevin Belton (Kevin Belton’s Cookin’ Louisiana), Pati Jinich (Pati’s Mexican Table), Diane Kochilas (My Greek Table), Nick Stellino (Storytellers in the Kitchen), and Martin Yan (Yan Can Cook!).

The panel will judge submissions based on an entrant’s demonstrated knowledge, ability to present ideas succinctly, overall telegenic appeal, uniqueness, and production values. The grand prize includes $4,000 cash and production equipment valued at $1,000 to complete a 10-episode web series for The second prize winner will receive $1,000 cash and the same production equipment valued at $1,000 to complete a 3-episode digital series for

The cooking show genre has its roots in public television. Julia Child’s The French Chef had a 10-year run, beginning in 1963, followed Jeff Smith’s the Frugal Gourmet in 1973. Nine PBS has celebrated St. Louis’s robust food and beverage scene since 1999, originating cooking series like Breaking Bread with Father Dominic (1999–2001), Feast TV (2013–2018), tasteMAKERS (2018–2020); Food Is Love is currently airing its second season. Nine PBS covers the local food scene and PBS cooking content on its website Chew in the Lou, a companion podcast, and social media platforms: FacebookTwitterInstagram, and TikTok.

A complete list of judging criteria, official rules, and a preview copy of the submission form are available starting today at