Jews in the News: July 5, 2017

TOP ROW, FROM LEFT:  Debra K. Schuster, Richard Yawitz, Andy Schwebel, Michael Samis and Alex Dubinsky. SECOND ROW: Alexandra Cohen, Zach Poscover, Meghan Platke, Josh Thomeczek and Rina Gersten.THIRD ROW, FROM LEFT:  Pardes Lyons-Warren, Sophie Baron,  Andrew Mannis, Daniel Pomerantz and Julian Albright. FOURTH ROW: Megan Rubenstein, Bonnie Solomon, Nancy Goodman, Judy Schwartz Jaffe and Stefanie Levenson.BOTTOM ROW:  Lev Guter and Dr. Jay Pepose.

Debra K. Schuster has joined the law firm of Paule, Camazine & Blumenthal. Her practice focuses on elder and disability law, a new area for the firm. Schuster previously owned Debra K. Schuster & Associates from 2003-2017.


Richard Yawitz has joined the law firm of Curtis, Heinz, Garrett and O’Keefe as a principal. He will focus on mergers and acquisitions, taxation, and corporate and closely held business matters.


Congregation B’nai Amoona’s director of experiential learning, Andy Schwebel, assumed the position of executive director on July 1. He is replacing Michael Samis, who is retiring after 10 years of service to B’nai Amoona. 


The Missouri Bar and the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education have recognized Parkway Central High School graduate Alex Dubinsky as an outstanding citizen. He is one of 15 students,  who were seniors this past school year, honored for their academic competence in government and civics courses, participation in civics- and government-related extracurricular activities and for their  community service. Son of Karen Dubinsky and Ken and Amy Dubinsky, Alex will be attending the University of Maryland in the fall.


Alexandra Cohen, 11, daughter of Emily and Dan Cohen, has placed second among fourth- and fifth-graders in the annual Law Day Essay Contest sponsored by the Missouri National Education Association and the Missouri Bar Young Lawyer’s Section. She is a student at Wydown Middle School. The contest is held to promote a greater understanding and appreciation of the law and the legal system among students. The Dubinsky and Cohen families attend United Hebrew Congregation. 

The following teens have been elected president of their respective Jewish youth groups:

Zach Poscover, United Hebrew’s North American Federation of Temple Youth (NFTY) son of Randi and Michael Poscover, Parkway West High School.

Meghan Platke, Congregation Shaare Emeth’s NFTY, daughter of Helene and Joel Platke, Parkway North High School.

Josh Thomeczek, Congregation Temple Israel’s NFTY, son of JoAnne Levy and Jim Thomeczek, Ladue Horton Watkins High School.

Rina Gersten, B’nai Amoona’s United Synagogue Youth (USY), daughter of Laura Shapiro and Mark Gersten, Parkway Central High School.

Pardes Lyons-Warren, Kol Rinah’s USY, daughter of Rhona Lyons and David Warren, Ladue Horton Watkins High School.

Sophie Baron is B’nai Brith Youth Organization (BBYO) Council N’siah and Andrew Mannis is Council Gadol. Sophie, daughter of Shari Baron and Andy Baron attends United Hebrew. Andrew is the son of Jill and Scott Mannis and are members of Shaare Emeth. Both students attend Parkway Central High School.


NFTY’s Missouri Valley Region, recently elected its new officers. Daniel Pomerantz, son of Melissa and Andrew Pomerantz, became president. Julian Albright, son of Danna and William Albright, was elected membership vice president, and Megan Rubenstein, daughter of Tracy Rubenstein and Jim Rubenstein, is the new programming vice president. Daniel and Julian attend University City High School and Shaare Emeth. Megan is a student at Parkway North High School and a member of United Hebrew. 


The following women have been elected president or chair of their respective Jewish organizations:

Bonnie Solomon is chair of Jewish Federation’s Women’s Philanthropy for the 2017-2019 term.

Nancy Goodman is president of B’nai Amoona’s Sisterhood. 

Judy Schwartz Jaffe is president of J Associates, a support auxiliary of the Jewish Community Center (JCC).

Stefanie Levenson is president of Nishmah, a program through the J.


MICDS math teacher Lev Guter has been chosen by his eighth grade students to receive the Thomas S. Duncan Award. He was honored for his hard work, determination and selfless giving that challenges students to strive for excellence and achieve their full potential. A member of Temple Israel, this is Guter’s first year at MICDS. 


Dr. Jay Pepose has received the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Life Achievement Honor Award. This award symbolizes his longstanding commitment to advancing the profession and patients’ eye health, and his significant contributions to ophthalmology. Pepose attends Nusach Hari B’nai Zion.