Jewish Federation of St. Louis announces new board for 2023 


The Jewish Federation of St. Louis approved its 2023 Board of Directors. In May 2022, the Federation had named Bob Newmark as the incoming Board Chair. Greg Yawitz preceded Bob Newmark as Chair and served for three and a half years as a dedicated leader for the Federation.

“Greg has been a partner and steward over the past three years, guiding the Federation through Covid, helping to raise funds for those impacted by the war in Ukraine and playing an integral role in the St. Louis Kaplan Feldman Holocaust Museum expansion and transition to its own entity. I’d like to thank Greg for his service to the Federation,” said Brian Herstig, President & CEO of Jewish Federation of St. Louis. “With that said, I’m looking forward to partnering with Bob in the new year as we continue to work to provide a thriving, diverse, and secure Jewish community.”

Federation’s newly formed Governance and Board Enrichment Committee worked alongside staff to assess gaps on the Board and to identify and nominate new community members to join the Board.


Board Chair – Bob Newmark

Vice Chair At-Large – Sue Schlichter

Vice Chair of Communications – Craig Rosenthal

Vice Chair of Community Impact – Burt Garland

Vice Chair of Community Leadership & Engagement – Jonathan Deutsch

Vice Chair of Development – Toby Warticovschi

Vice Chair of Finance – Felicia Malter

Vice Chair of Governance & Board Engagement – Ben Cherry

Past Chair – Greg Yawitz

Newest Members: Dafna Revah, Rabbi Janine Schloss, Mont Levy, and Rachel Thimangu

Continuing Board Members: Aviva Raskas, Cathy Goldsticker, Dalia Oppenheimer, Daniel Friedman, Donn Rubin, Emily Stein MacDonald, Jim Deutsch, Joe Pereles, John Greenberg, Leslie Yoffie, Melanie Winograd, Neil Jaffe, Rob Wasserman, Sherry Shuman, Shira Berkowitz, Stephanie Gross, Tim Stern, Vicki Singer

Additionally, Ken Kranzberg was voted into the Council of Life, the highest honor the Federation can bestow upon distinguished community leaders.

The Jewish Federation would like to thank those whose Board terms are ending this year: Rabbi Carnie Rose, Carol Staenberg, Gerry Greiman (a past Board Chair), Harvey Wallace (a past Board Chair), Michael Litwack (a past Board Chair), and Susan Goldberg.