Dennis Ross, Shulem Deen among National Jewish Book Awards winners

Marcy Oster

(JTA) — Dennis Ross, a former top U.S. official, and Shulem Deen, who wrote about leaving the Hasidic world, were among the winners of 2015 National Jewish Book Awards.

“Anonymous Soldiers: The Struggle For Israel, 1917-1947,” a book by Bruce Hoffman about Jewish operations in prestate Israel, was tapped as the Jewish Book of the Year.

The Jewish Book Council announced the award winners on Wednesday.

Ross, President Barack Obama’s top Iran adviser from 2009 to 2011, was the winner in the history category for “Doomed to Succeed: The U.S.-Israel Relationship from Truman to Obama.” In the book, Ross said National Security Adviser Susan Rice’s failure to cultivate Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu contributed to a breakdown in U.S.-Israel communication.

Deen won in the contemporary Jewish life and practice category for his memoir, “All Who Go Do Not Return.” The former Skverer Hasid, who for years blogged under the pseudonym “Hasidic Rebel,” described his sheltered life in New Square, the virtually all-Hasidic village an hour north of New York City, and wrote of losing his faith and, ultimately, his five children.

Former British Chief Rabbi Jonathan Sacks won for his book, “Not in God’s Name: Confronting Religious Violence,” in the modern Jewish thought and experience category.

For fiction, the winner was “The Last Flight of Poxl West: A Novel,” by Daniel Torday.

Awards were given in 19 categories. They will be presented March 9 at the Center for Jewish History in New York.

A complete list of the winners can be seen on the Jewish Book Council’s website.

The council has given out the annual awards recognizing outstanding books of Jewish interest since 1948.

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service – if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at