This week’s Spotlight Photos

The 2020 honorees include (all are WashU 2020 graduates except as noted): Micah Goldson, Fred J. Rosenbaum Award for Excellence; Maddie Lapp, Fontbonne 2020 graduate, Nachshon Award; Miles Johnson, Nachshon Award; Geordan Neinstein, Ahavat Tzion (Love of Israel) Award; Benjamin Ushman, Ahavat Tzion (Love of Israel) Award; Coby Drexler, Commitment to Jewish Life Award; Kayla Steinberg, Commitment to Jewish Life Award; Jamie Hendler, Tzedek Award; Jacob Gross, Creating a Jewish Legacy Award; Max Helfand, Gesher Award; Bryan Wilensky, Gesher Award; Preston Tasoff, Ner Tamid Award; Daniella Roth, Ner Tamid Award; and Ethan Weiner, Kesher Award.

WashU Hillel honored 14 graduating student leaders at its 2020 Senior Recognition Ceremony on Sunday, May 31 via Zoom.  Over 100 family members and guests from around the country tuned in to hear congratulatory remarks from Washington University Chancellor Andrew Martin, the Hillel staff, and Hillel Board Chair Penny Alper.  Each student was recognized individually and received a custom glass mezuzah designed and created by hand with the WashU emblem by local artist David Alper.  The event was underwritten by the Fred J. Rosenbaum Memorial Fund.  

The Jewish Light’s Spotlight page, featuring photos from Jewish community events on the inside back cover of each edition, is made possible through the generous support of the Staenberg Family Foundation.