St. Louis Jewish Light welcomes 2016-2017 Board, including nine new trustees

Members of the Jewish Light Board, Advisory Committee and staff meet earlier this month. 

The Jewish Light added nine new Trustees and two new Advisory Committee members at its April Annual Meeting and June Board of Trustees meeting.

Joining the Board of Trustees are Douglas “Dugie” Baron, Rachael Brightfield, Mueriel Carp, Stephanie Gross, Alice Handelman, Matthew Litwack, Michael Litwack, Melanie Paticoff and Joan Silber.

Joining the Advisory Committee, which comprises past Board presidents and others who have made an outstanding contribution to the Light and community,  are Rabbi Elizabeth Hersh and former Light Trustee Harvey Hieken.

“We are so pleased to have these new Trustees and Advisory Committee members join the Light,” said Board President Jane Rubin. “They represent different backgrounds, skill sets and age groups from throughout our community, and they bring so much experience in a wide range of nonprofits and professions.”

The Light’s officers from the 2015-2016 term remain intact. In addition to Rubin, they include Vice Presidents Steve Gallant, Jeff Golden (also the Business Committee chair) and Peggy Kaplan; Treasurer Diana Iskiwitch; Secretary Laura Silver; and Immediate Past President Gary Kodner.

Joining the officers on the Executive Committee are returning Development Committee co-chairs Sheri Sherman and Vicki Singer; Business Committee vice chair Judi Scissors; returning Editorial Committee chair Ben Lipman and his committee vice chair Lauren Sagel.

Trustees Sagel and Caroline Goldenberg return as co-chairs of Ohr Chadash, the Light’s Teen Page, which publishes a monthly section during the school year and accompanying website and social media.

Also returning to the board this year are Anita Kraus, Ed Musen, Avi Rosenzweig, David Singer and Toby Warticovschi.

The Light’s Annual Meeting was held on April 19 at the home of Laura and Michael Silver and was supported by the Harvey Kornblum Foundation. St. Louis Post-Dispatch and sports columnist Benjamin Hochman was the special guest speaker.