Nominations sought for professional service award

The Jewish Federation of St. Louis is now seeking nominations for the Fred A. Goldstein Memorial Service Award given annually to recognize outstanding professional service. The award has been given since 1965. Nominees must be employed by a St. Louis Jewish organization and currently working in any direct service, professional or managerial role. Nominations should reflect individuals who excel in their field, have a significant track record over time, have introduced important innovations, and are perceived as role models by other professionals and volunteers. Past recipients presently working in the Jewish community include Robert A. Cohn, Evelyn Young, Batya Abramson-Goldstein, Nikki Goldstein, Marci Mayer Eisen, Barbara Raznick, Stephen Cohen, Joan Wolchansky, Susan Witte, Janet Weinberg, Maxine Weil and Ronit Sherwin. Last year’s recipient was Rabbi Hyim Shafner. 

Nominations are invited from the entire Jewish community. The committee reviewing nominations include representatives from the Jewish Federation Board of Directors, the presidents of the Rabbinical Association and Rabbinical Council and past award recipients. Deadline for nominations is Friday, July 30.

Letters of recommendation should be sent to Marci Mayer Eisen, Manager, Professional Excellence Project, #12 Millstone Campus Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146 or [email protected]. For more information, call 314-442-3810.