JProStL to present honors at Annual Recognition Event


Top row, from left: Beth Kodner, Emily Bornstein, Itta Boyko, Theresa Dattilo and Sally Lang. Bottom row, from left: Jessica Duneman, Debbie and Mike Lefton, Pam Appelman and Rabbi Scott Slarskey.

Eight professionals and two community leaders will be honored for their work within the St. Louis Jewish community at “Treasuring Our Professionals,” JProStL’s annual recognition event.

The event will take place on Thursday, March 3, from 3 to 4:30 p.m. in person at the Jewish Community Center and livestreaming. JProStL, an initiative of the Jewish Federation of St. Louis, is the professional association for staff who work at 50 non-profit organizations, schools, and congregations affiliated with the St. Louis Jewish community.

Mike and Debbie Lefton have been chosen as the recipients of the JProStL Partnership award, recognizing them as volunteer leaders who exemplify the lay-staff relationship through commitments to the Jewish community and St. Louis region, ethical leadership, Jewish values, and acts of kindness.

The 2022 Peer Honorees are:

• Career Achievement – Sally Lang, Director, Community Relations/HR Manager, St. Louis Jewish Community Center (the J)

• Chesed/Kindness – Pam Appelman, Administrative Assistant at the Linda Rotskoff Early Childhood Center, Congregation B’nai Amoona

• Dedication – Theresa Dattilo, Office Manager, Crown Center for Senior Living

• Emerging Leader – Emily Bornstein, Director of Community Investment and Evaluation, Jewish Federation of St. Louis

• Educator – Itta Boyko, Academic Principal, Epstein Hebrew Academy

• Mentor – Beth Kodner, Director of Camp Emeth, Congregation Shaare Emeth

• Pillar – Jessica Duneman, Director of Retail Operation at the NCJW Resale Shop, NCJWSTL

Visionary – Rabbi Scott Slarskey, Director of Jewish Life, Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School

Recipients were chosen by a committee of JProStl leadership and former honorees, representing colleagues from across the community.

Jessica Wax of the Jewish Federation of St. Louis is JProStl Special Events Chair. Sarah Z. Levinson of NORC is JProStl President, and Vice Presidents are Scott Berzon of Congregation Shaare Emeth and Liz Collins of Kol Rinah.

Peer Awards co-chairs are Ellen Futterman of the St. Louis Jewish Light and Ashley Stockman of the J. Partnership Awards co-chairs are Rabbi Scott Shafrin of Kol Rinah and Heather Silverman of NCJWSTL.

The event is free of charge for those employed at Jewish organizations. Guests are $25 for an in-person ticket and $18 to livestream. In-person participation will require proof of vaccinations and masks for all guest. For registration and tributes go to

For additional information, including sponsorships, contact Marci Mayer Eisen at 314-442-3810 or [email protected].