JProStl announces award recipients

Top row, from left: Marty Oberman, Rick Recht, Rosalie Stein, Amy Pakett, Derrick Bryant and Ellen Futterman; second row:  Randi Schenberg, Craig Neuman, Rabbi Micah Buck-Yael, Leiba Levine and Esti Zuravin.

Honorees have been announced for the Annual JProStl Recognition Luncheon, which will take place on  from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 2 at the Jewish Community Center Staenberg Family Complex, 2 Millstone Campus Drive. The theme of the program is Shining the Light on our Professional Community. Recipients were chosen by a committee of JProStl leadership and former honorees representing colleagues from across the community.

Marty Oberman has been chosen as the recipient of the JProStl Partnership award, recognizing a board leader who best exemplifies the lay–staff relationship through commitments to the Jewish community and St. Louis region, ethical leadership, Jewish values and acts of kindness.

The JProStl peer awards honor those who exemplify professional excellence and dedication to their position, organization and the St. Louis Jewish community. Those selected to receive a JProStl Peer Award in eight categories include:

• Rick Recht (Jewish Rock Radio) for Visionary

• Rosalie Stein (Congregation Shaare Emeth) for Career Achievement


• Amy Pakett (Jewish Federation of St. Louis) for Emerging Leader

• Derrick Bryant (Temple Israel) for Dedication

• Ellen Futterman (St. Louis Jewish Light) and Randi Schenberg (Crown Center) for Pillar

• Craig Neuman (the J) for Mentor

• Rabbi Micah Buck-Yael (JF&CS) for Chesed/Kindness

• Leiba Levine (Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School) and Esti Zuravin (Esther Miller Bais Yaakov High School) for Education

Program co-chairs are Ellen Alper of National Council of Jewish Women-St. Louis Section and Erin Schreiber of Maryville University Hillel. Awards co-chairs are Bryan Anderhub of the J and Patty Bloom of Saul Mirowitz Jewish Community School. Partnership Awards co-chairs are Nancy Weigley of Central Reform Congregation and Rabbi Michael Rovinsky of Jewish Student Union. 

The luncheon is $25 for guests and free of charge for staff who work at least 15 hours per week annually at a Jewish organization. The luncheon is supported by the Lubin-Green Foundation, a supporting foundation of Jewish Federation; Maryville University and Maryville University Hillel. To register and to donate to professional development in honor of the recipients, go to For information, contact Marci Mayer Eisen at 314-442-3810 or [email protected].