Jewish Light welcomes new trustees, honors teen page staff and advisor

Mimi Pultman reacts to the surprise presentation honoring her service as a founding advisor of the Jewish Light’s Ohr Chadash Teen Page. Pultman has served as advisor since before the launch of Ohr Chadash in 2008.

The St. Louis Jewish Light welcomed six new trustees to its board — and saluted its outgoing trustees —during its Annual Meeting last month.

The Light welcomes to its board Steve Gallant, Jill Mogil, Ed Musen, Dr. Gary Ratkin, Mary Ann Srenco and Rabbi Lane Steinger.

Outgoing trustees were Jack Cohen, Pam Rubin and Susie Zimmerman.

The Annual Meeting was held at the Jewish Community Center Staenberg Family Complex Arts & Education Building, and featured remarks from former Jewish Light President and current Secretary John Greenberg, a d’var Torah from Rabbi Brad Horwitz and a greeting from Jewish Federation Chairman Robert Millstone.

Video Digitization Services ad

Jewish Light President Jenny Wolkowitz offered remarks and Light Publisher/CEO Larry Levin presented a “State of the Light” report.

The Jewish Light’s Ohr Chadash Teen Page Co-Advisor Peggy Kaplan presented special Proclamations from the Missouri House of Representatives to the Co-Editors of the 2011-2012 Teen Page, Hannah Cropf and Caleb Ellis. Graduating Teen Page seniors Juliana Wishne and Jake Weisman were also honored.

Kaplan also made a special surprise presentation honoring Mimi Pultman, one of the Ohr Chadash Teen Page’s founders (along with Wolkowitz) for her years of service to the Teen Page. Pultman left the Teen Page this year, turning over the reins to Kaplan and Alive Magazine founder Elizabeth Tucker, who will lead the 2012-2013 staff.

The Jewish Light Annual Meeting Committee comprised John Greenberg, Chair along with Gianna Jacobson, Gary Kodner, Larry Levin, Jenny Wolkowitz, Debbie Gershenson and Helen Neuman.