Jewish Light to install new president, welcome new trustees on May 14

Gianna Jacobson

The St. Louis Jewish Light’s Board of Trustees will install its new President Gary Kodner, its Executive Committee and five new Trustees at its Annual Meeting on Tuesday, May 14 at noon at the Jewish Community Center’s Performing Arts and Banquet Center.

Kodner has served on the Light Board and Executive Committee and in numerous other lay leadership positions in the community, including a term as President of Shaare Zedek Synagogue and BSKI, and has served on the board of Central Agency for Jewish Education. He succeeds Jenny Wolkowitz as President of the Board.

“I am honored to serve the Light in this capacity, particularly at this time,” said Kodner, co-owner of Nehmen-Kodner, a graphic design and marketing firm. “We are finishing our Strategic Plan and we look forward to envisioning and implementing the key action steps necessary for 21st-century media excellence.”

“Leaders come to the forefront at the times they are most suited to the task,” said Wolkowitz. “Gary’s ability to organize and present a clear vision for the future, especially as the Light steers its course through a challenging media environment, is exactly what the Light needs at this stage of its development.”


Kodner’s Executive Committee colleagues will be: Vice Presidents Diane Gallant, Jane Tzinberg Rubin and Jeff Golden; Secretary Sheri Sherman; Treasurer Steve Gallant; and Immediate Past President Wolkowitz.

Nominating Committee chair Gianna Jacobson led the process to identify and recommend new Trustees to the organization.

“We were thrilled to receive a large and overwhelmingly qualified group of candidates for the Light Board,” said Jacobson. “The five that are joining the Board possess skills and experience that deepen the Light’s bench strength in a number of areas, including finance, technology, business and community relations.”

The new Trustees are:

• Jennifer Schmitz, a finance leader at MasterCard Worldwide, Immediate Past President of Hadassah, and a 2012 Millstone Fellow.

• David Singer, owner of Warehouse of Fixtures, a former member of the Jewish Federation’s Young Professionals Division board and active with the Jewish Community Relations Council and the Foster and Adoptive Care Coalition Board.

• Vicki Singer, who has wide nonprofit experience including Wydown School and Women’s Philanthropy Executive Committee.

• Michael Corson,  the founder of Not Just Copies, Inc., which owns and operates NJC Printing, and a marketing services company, MarketPath.  Mike is a  former board member of KidSmart, an organization that distributes free school supplies to children in need,  and is involved in a variety of other community activities.

• Toby Warticovschi, who has extensive technology and finance background, transitioning from a technology leadership role at Express Scripts to Millstone Capital Advisors and serves on the Jewish Federation Budget, Finance and Administration Committee.

“When we look at how Trustees can contribute to the Light’s mission, it’s clear that this year’s new Trustees bring exceptional background to the task,” said Light Publisher/CEO Larry Levin. “These five represent an incredible complement to what’s been an amazingly sophisticated and committed Board of Trustees during my five years with the Light.”

The Light will also thank and honor those Trustees who are rotating off the Board, who are: Lew Chartock, John Greenberg, Gianna Jacobson, Ken Kraus, Myrna Meyer, Carl Moskowitz, Judy Pass, Mary Ann Srenco, Michael Staenberg.

Jacobson will also be recognized as an incoming member of the Light’s Advisory Committee, which includes past Presidents and several others who have been involved with the Light in a substantial manner. Jacobson is departing the Board after 19 years of continuous service to the organization.

Cost to attend the Annual Meeting is $20. For more information, call 314 743 3660, email [email protected] or register online at