Epstein scholarship banquet to honor school presidents

On March 23, the H.F. Epstein Hebrew Academy will hold its 68th Annual Scholarship Banquet at the Crowne Plaza in Clayton. The event will honor the past and present presidents of the school and will celebrate the 50th anniversary of Epstein’s campus on Warson Road.

Founded in 1943, Epstein was the first Orthodox Jewish day school to be established west of the Mississippi River. The school boasts of over 1,600 active alumni throughout the United States, Israel, Europe, Canada and South Africa.

The current Head of School, Rabbi Avi Greene, Ed.D, is himself a graduate of Epstein Hebrew Academy and Block Yeshiva High School.

Since its founding in 1943, Epstein has been guided by the leadership of its 25 presidents, many of whom have also gone on to assume positions of leadership in the Jewish Federation, the Jewish Community Center, the JCA, Block Yeshiva High School as well as other Jewish and secular organizations.

At its 68th Annual Banquet, Epstein will announce the establishment of a “Wall of Honor” at the school in recognition of its past presidents.

The banquet will also celebrate the arrival of the new Head of School, Rabbi Avi Greene, (Epstein class of 1988). A graduate of Brandeis University, Rabbi Green received his semicha from the Rabbis Isaac Elchanan Theological Seminary of Yeshiva University, where he also obtained a doctorate in education. Rabbi Green has served as Director of Shalhevet High School in Los Angeles and founder and principal of Atid School, also in Los Angeles.

The Annual Scholarship Banquet helps to raise monies to provide tuition assistance for needy families. It will be held at 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 23 at the Crowne Plaza, Clayton. Darla Grossberg and Adinah Raskas are chairpersons.

For further information, reservations, or to place and ad in the commemorative journal, call 314-994-7856.